HAPPYish

Posted: August 31, 2015 in Tv
Tags: , , , ,

Hey guys, I know tomorrow is tv Tuesday but I haven’t been following my own schedule very well lately.

Since I want to do Fear the Walking Dead for tomorrows post I figured I would do a show we just started watching last night, and are almost done with the season.

That I just saw has been cancelled.

Thats unfortunate, ShowTime!!!

Anyways, about this show…..

p10520813_b_v9_ac

There will probably be spoilers..

As you can see from the picture above you follow a family of 3, mainly the parents as they live lives.

Personally, I can’t say its 100%, its one of my favorite shows ever.

Most of the time I watch shows to escape the everyday hardships, such as my dad passing or people getting cancer etc.

However, this show approaches these things head on. But to me the people were real, in whatever they encountered.

If they were angry I believed they were angry.

I love that the wife isn’t Stepford. She has feelings about anything and everything, and can voice them.

The couple is a bit hippy or I suppose if you were to put a label on them that is what they would be.

They try to stay in their “bubble” as they shy away from media. Instead of looking at a screen reading the book they read real books.

The dad/husband is in the advertising business, so he is kind of a “dinosaur” unwilling to adapt to twitter, facebook, etc.

The show poses a rather interesting question.

What do you do in a world that is getting younger and younger when all you do is get older and older? You can try and adapt, by wearing younger clothes and using social media but at the end of the day will that be enough?

Also, discussed is “do we have a happiness cap”…

Most/some of us have dreams of being lawyers, doctors, moving into a tiny home, or traveling the world…whatever.

If we achieve or reach these things will we be happy?

If we are is it lasting or fleeting?

I personally think happiness is fleeting. Not to say that you can’t be “unsad” if not happy.

I don’t know if that made sense at all.

For instance, I love books. Dork I know.

But one of my favorite things is to go to Barnes and Noble and shop for books it makes me happy. In that moment I am happy. I am doing what I enjoy and I don’t do it all the time so its like elevated happiness.

Which, I don’t believe makes me sad the rest of the time.

I hope that made sense.

What do you think? Do you agree or do I sound crazy?

Comment and let me know.

iqB5XRk

Leave a Reply

