Catch Up, R.I.P, ptsd……

Posted: August 6, 2015 in Random
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Hey guys. How are all of you doing?

Well I hope. I am sorry that I haven’t been keeping my word and writing more often.

For the last month maybe more, I have been coping with my stepdad who has been more of a dad to me being sick.

Not sure where to start. This added to the fact that I lost another important man in my life, my grandpa, in December, its just taking a toll.

Well for the last few weeks he was in and out of the hospital. They knew that he has Liver Cirrhosis, to begin with but he had done more damage to his liver. For the about 9 years I lived with him after my mom and he married he drank just about everyday. If not everyday.

Several of the memories I have of him, were him getting drunk and watching war movies, often, and he would always ask me if I had ever been to war. Even when I was 13 years old.

He had served in the Vietnam war, and from the one story I can remember him sharing with me, it was something no one should ever see.

Kind of graphic story skip the next part if you don’t want to know

……………………………………………………………………………………………………

He once told me, he was awakened in the middle of the night to bombs or gun fire. He ran out of his tent, in just his boxers, and ran to help people. He was a medic(I believe). He remembers one guys head getting blown off right in front of him.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

So since he came back from the war from what I am told he has tried taking his life a few times. Thankfully, never succeeding or doing it. I am not sure to what extent he tried.

Since, I moved out about 9 years ago his PTSD seems to have progressively gotten worse.

Well, like I stated above he drank to cope. So when my mom noticed he was jaundice she made sure his doctor saw him, and thats when they found out he had damaged his liver even more.

About a month ago they also saw what they said was a tumor in his liver. The doctors thought it might be cancer so for a week or so we waited to his appointment to find out if it was or wasn’t. Thankfully, about a week and a half ago we found out it wasn’t cancer(They didn’t think). However, they said there was a problem with his pancreas also thinking it was cancer.

We never were able to get an answer to the pancreas. Last Friday my mom called me and said if they didn’t get him on dialysis that he wouldn’t make it past 2 weeks. (This was all done at the VA). Well they transferred him to a local hospital who for some reason did a test to kind out if the kidneys were the problem or a problem. This was Monday.

After the results said they weren’t they decided to do whatever they felt they could do for him. Which, from what I understand was simply giving him morphine and a medicine to help with the liver function.

After only 48 hours they decided there was nothing that could be done, and thusly transferred him to an “old folks” home. Who after only a few hours of having him, couldn’t deal with how difficult he was being. Supposedly trying to take a swing at one of the nurses. (He wasn’t in his right mind). So they gave him a full dose(which even the doctor said they don’t usually do), and it knocked him out. That was 2 days ago. This morning he passed away.

Leave a Reply

