Voltaire

Posted: January 25, 2015 in Books
Tags: , , , ,

Last week we went to Barnes & Noble. How big of a nerd does it make me that thats my favorite store? Then again coffee and books, what more could you ask for?

bookish-problem-36-hoping-for-that-dream-job-that-allows-you-to-drink-coffee-and-read-good-books-all-day-c59a7

If you find it, let me know.

I wondered off to find some books to read to our kids. I have come to the realization that reading to our kids at night seems more like boring them to sleep. Last week they feel asleep to Diary of a Wimpy kid, and omg that kid is rotten. Have you read it? I have watched the movies but I just felt like the kid got the shaft.  I digress. Like I said I wondered off in search of something else to read to them. Being a bibliophile I love collecting books. So great books that are cheap is like a dream come true. Some day I hope to have a huge library including some first editions. Anyways, I stumbled upon B&N’s classic section. I grabbed a few books that I have never read. One of which is Voltaire’s Candide. Seeing as I love learning, pretty much, “useless” facts I read through the short bio that the B&N classics have. Where is mentions a quote, correct me if I am wrong, from Candide. ” Let us cultivate our garden”. Curiosity got the best of me, so I searched for more quotes as well as to get a better understanding of the above quote.

Answer on enotes:

After incredible adventures and surviving situations of extreme danger to himself and his companions, Candide eventually finds himself and the people who have become important in his life (for various reasons) together on a farm – not a very glamorous setting after all he has seen and experienced. However, Candide comes to understand that the activities necessary to sustain life on the farm provide for a safe, constructive and sustainable lifestyle – which is a good reason for the group to decide to “cultivate our garden” in what is, if not the best of all possible worlds, at least  acceptable.

As I said I searched for other quotes, happening upon a quote that spoke to me. Matthew and I are so different in our personalities. He can easily let things go. Whereas I am the exact opposite and hold tightly to things from my past.

life-is-thickly-sown-with-thorns-and-i-know-no-other-remedy-than-to-pass-quickly-through-them-7

There’s your randomness for the day.

Have a great day all…

Leave a Reply

